About Us 2017-10-11T21:36:28+00:00

Community Action Program Committee, Inc., (CAPC) has been serving Northwest Florida residents since April, 1965.

Our agency began as a small summer program for children, and has developed into a multi-faceted agency targeting poverty in our community. We are an anti-poverty agency and the following four programs work cohesively as our organization focuses on its vision to change people’s lives, to embody the spirit of hope and to make the community a better place to live.


Funded through Department of Economic Opportunity


Funded through Health and Human Services, USDA, and Voluntary Pre-Kindergarten


 Funded through Department of Economic Opportunity


Funded through the Department of Economic Opportunity


Community Services Block Grant (CSBG) funds, share 6 national goals focusing on the family, the community and Community Action Programs.

Families becoming self-sufficient

Achieve potential by strengthening family and supportive systems

Improving people lives in the community

Giving people a stake in their community

Partnerships among supports and providers

Increase our capacity to help

A message from our Board Chair John Carrell and our Executive Director Douglas Brown

Our History

In August of 1964, the Economic Opportunity Act was passed by Congress and signed into law by President Johnson. In October of 1964, Sargeant Shriver was sworn in as Director of the Office of Economic Opportunity.

“It will not be a short or easy struggle, no single weapon or strategy will suffice, but we shall not rest until that war is won.”
President Lyndon B. Johnson

Board of Directors


John Carrell
John CarrellChairperson
Representing Targeted Communities Sector, Gulf Power
Debra Little
Debra LittleVice Chairperson
Representing Private Sector, Law Firm
Debi Milam
Debi MilamTreasurer
Representing Private Sector, Sun Trust Bank (retired)
Joe Mack
Joe MackSecretary
Representing Targeted Communities Sector, Cantonment and Molino

Public Sector Representatives

Linda Moultrie
Linda MoultrieMember
Representing Public Sector,
Escambia County School Board
Commissioner Lumon May
Commissioner Lumon MayMember
Representing Public Sector,
Escambia County Commissioner
Councilwoman Sherri Myers
Councilwoman Sherri MyersMember
Representing Public Sector,
Pensacola City Council
Vicki Pugh
Vicki PughMember
Representing Public Sector,
Early Learning Coalition

Targeted Communities Representatives

Al Jackson
Al JacksonMember
Representing Targeted Communities Sector, Warrington
Tabitha Nichols
Tabitha NicholsMember
Representing Targeted Communities Sector, Century
Laura M. Garrett
Laura M. GarrettMember
Representing Targeted Communities Sector, Executive Vice President, Council on Aging of West Florida, Inc.